super easy spring lemon cookies (from a cake mix!)

That’s a lemon cake cookie. (Ohmyword YUM.)

When my kitchen counters are glistening, I have this inexplicable desire to bake. Kind of counter-intuitive (pun!) but I chose a really easy recipe that left me with only a handful of dirty utensils — and stellar results. If you haven’t tried cake cookies before, you are seriously missing out. Because they are no-fail and seriously so good.

I wanted something light & springy, so I opted for a lemon cake mix.

The easy recipe: I rolled the dough (just add 1/3 cup oil + 2 eggs) into small, 1/2 inch balls and baked at 350 for 7-8ish minutes (they should be a little gooey when you take them out) on an ungreased sheet. This yielded about 50 fluffy, round cookies.

The icing on the cake (cookies): Canned frosting was on sale, so I decided to forgo making my own and opted for the lazy easy option of Whipped Pillsbury Frosting. Transferred into a Ziploc baggie, snipped a corner, and piped all the cookies in about 60 seconds. (Speedy, simple & so cute!) I topped with dotted sprinkles from Target’s Easter section.

What they’re good for: The small, bite-size look would make them super cute for a baby shower, kids’ birthday bash, or an Easter party. They almost look like mini cupcakes, but with a soft cookie texture!

Thoughts from the taste-tester (er, husband): “It was an honor to put that in my mouth. I will eat them all.”

About Kayla

I'm a full-time journalist turned work-at-home writer. I'm hitched to a shaggy-haired pastor and we're smitten with two wild + crazy boys: Joseph (3), who joined our family via international adoption, and Asher (1), who came the old-fashioned way. I drink strong coffee, I like pretty things, and I believe there's beauty in the broken. I hope Many Sparrows will encourage you to find worth and live a story worth sharing. When I’m not changing diapers and sweeping Cheerios, I’m tickling the ivory keys of my old school MacBook as a freelance writer and editor. And when I’m not doing that, I’m sneaking into the living room in the wee hours of the night to blog about all of the things. (Primarily faith, family, style, adoption, design, and happy thoughts.)
This entry was posted in Food + Health and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

