show me how big your brave is.

So, I’ve had a song stuck in my head all week. Ask my poor husband, who got to hear my tone-deaf humming during rush hour the whole time we were traveling this weekend.

Not only is “Brave” by Sara Bareilles darn catchy, but it has lyrics that are striking a chord with me, too. (See what I did there? Striking a chord! Get it?!)

I’ve been wrestling with authenticity. We’ve all been there, right? How do we become empowered to actively be who God has formed us to be instead of passively being who others expect us to be? Because the latter is easier. So. Much. Easier.

How do we have a voice when the room is silent? How do we stand when other chairs are full?

During a recent conversation with someone much wiser than I am, I just let the words fall out. I shared my frustration with this tension.

I was struck by his question: How strong are you?

Whoa.

Am I strong enough to be me? Am I strong enough to speak when the time is right, and hold the words in when the time calls for it? Am I strong enough to be the same Kayla with everyone, even if it means someone won’t like me? Am I strong enough to be brave? Are you?

Let’s be brave. Together.

image

You can be amazing
You can turn a phrase into a weapon or a drug
You can be the outcast
Or be the backlash of somebody’s lack of love
Or you can start speaking up
Nothing’s gonna hurt you the way that words do
And they settle ‘neath your skin
Kept on the inside and no sunlight
Sometimes a shadow wins
But I wonder what would happen if you

Say what you wanna say
And let the words fall out
Honestly, I wanna see you be brave

With what you want to say
And let the words fall out
Honestly, I wanna see you be brave

Everybody’s been there, everybody’s been stared down
By the enemy
Fallen for the fear and done some disappearing
Bow down to the mighty
Don’t run, stop holding your tongue
Maybe there’s a way out of the cage where you live
Maybe one of these days you can let the light in
Show me how big your brave is

Say what you wanna say
And let the words fall out
Honestly, I wanna see you be brave

With what you want to say
And let the words fall out
Honestly, I wanna see you be brave

Innocence, your history of silence
Won’t do you any good
Did you think it would?
Let your words be anything but empty
Why don’t you tell them the truth?

Say what you wanna say
And let the words fall out
Honestly, I wanna see you be brave

With what you want to say
And let the words fall out
Honestly, I wanna see you be brave

About Kayla

I'm a full-time journalist turned work-at-home writer. I'm hitched to a shaggy-haired pastor and we're smitten with two wild + crazy boys: Joseph (3), who joined our family via international adoption, and Asher (1), who came the old-fashioned way. I drink strong coffee, I like pretty things, and I believe there's beauty in the broken. I hope Many Sparrows will encourage you to find worth and live a story worth sharing. When I’m not changing diapers and sweeping Cheerios, I’m tickling the ivory keys of my old school MacBook as a freelance writer and editor. And when I’m not doing that, I’m sneaking into the living room in the wee hours of the night to blog about all of the things. (Primarily faith, family, style, adoption, design, and happy thoughts.)
This entry was posted in Happy Thoughts, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

