evidence of a king: found words on John 20:11-18

John 20:11-18

A little over a year ago, a  friend asked me to pen a few thoughts, poetic in nature, on John 20: 11-18 (where it’s revealed that Jesus had risen). We hoped to put some music to it, but things got busy and the words stayed nestled in a notebook, completely forgotten until today. As a journalist, poems and prose are not my forte, but putting pen to paper was a powerful way for me to worship. Here’s the passage:

Now Mary stood outside the tomb crying. As she wept, she bent over to look into the tomb 12 and saw two angels in white, seated where Jesus’ body had been, one at the head and the other at the foot. They asked her, “Woman, why are you crying?”

“They have taken my Lord away,” she said, “and I don’t know where they have put him.” At this, she turned around and saw Jesus standing there, but she did not realize that it was Jesus. He asked her, “Woman, why are you crying? Who is it you are looking for?” Thinking he was the gardener, she said, “Sir, if you have carried him away, tell me where you have put him, and I will get him.”

Jesus said to her, “Mary.”

She turned toward him and cried out in Aramaic, “Rabboni!” (which means “Teacher”). Jesus said, “Do not hold on to me, for I have not yet ascended to the Father. Go instead to my brothers and tell them, ‘I am ascending to my Father and your Father, to my God and your God.’”

Mary Magdalene went to the disciples with the news: “I have seen the Lord!” And she told them that he had said these things to her.

So, I dug into some old bible commentaries and spent some time marveling over this sweet and beautiful mystery from Mary’s perspective.

Here are my words:

Standing without

All have gone

Void where you once lain

Heart emptied

Tears dried

My king, taken away

 

Standing without

Cold and bare

Heart in full disdain

Tomb emptied

I cry

My king, take me away

None know but those who’ve tasted it

The sorrows of a deserted soul

O beloved, where have you gone

Come close and make us whole

I seek with affection, I seek with fear

Looking to find, He who brought us near

Come back to us, find me standing here

Such a wounded spirit, who could bear

Sounds of silence and despair

A sight of angels will not suffice

Without the King — O, the sight!

Glorious light!

Freed from strain

Evidence of love

Hope of life found today

 

Great mystery!

Freed from shame

Evidence of a King

Hope of life found today

I have seen the Lord!

I have seen the Lord

I will proclaim

I have seen the Lord!

I have seen the Lord

I will proclaim, I will proclaim

 

Standing in the garden

Hope renewed at last

A cure for the broken

Grief has lost its grasp

 

He has called my name!

Hope and freedom explode

I have seen the Lord

Calling me his own

He has called my name!

Brothers, sisters hear

I have seen the Lord

No more tears

No more fear

 

I have seen the Lord

I will proclaim

I have seen the Lord

He has called my name

Leave a Reply

