government shutdowns, facebook + the kingdom of god

facebookandkingdomofgod

So, you’ve probably heard that the U.S. government is in shutdown-mode. (If you’re confused about it, you can learn about the hot mess express here.) And chances are, you’ve probably read a gazillion Facebook statuses and tweets about it. And they’re all so respectful and considerate and pointing to the cross, right?

So here’s what I’m thinking about today: How do we let the Kingdom encompass all areas of our lives — including where politics and social media intersect? How do we let the message of reconciliation and renewal flow out of our lives — even our online ones? I don’t really care whether you consider yourself a conservative or a liberal. What I do care about is that if you claim Jesus, that you’re reflecting Jesus in your words + actions.

So thankful for my pastor's wisdom on this. Insight + wisdom isn't something we see often on Facebook...especially in the 'religious' community.

So thankful for my pastor’s wisdom on this. Insight + wisdom isn’t something we see often on Facebook…especially in the ‘religious’ community.

12 Kingdom questions to ask before engaging politics on social media:

  1. How will what I’m saying reflect the Kingdom of God?
  2. Will someone who doesn’t know Jesus be brought closer or further from the Kingdom after reading what I’m going to say?
  3. Is what I’m saying rooted in love? (Because otherwise I’m just a resounding gong or clanging symbol.)
  4. Am I being patient — or am I writing a gut reaction? (Because love is patient.)
  5. Am I being kind? Will others see kindness in what I’m posting? (Because maybe what I deem kind will be hurtful or damaging to others. And love is kind.)
  6. Am I boasting? Am I being proud in my opinions? (Because love doesn’t boast, it’s not proud, and it’s not envious, either.)
  7. Is what I’m saying going to dishonor others? (Even if those others are people I disagree with? Because love doesn’t dishonor others or God.)
  8. Am I being easily angered? (Look beyond “But — I’m right! You’re wrong.” Love isn’t easily angered.)
  9. What is the purpose for posting? Is it self serving? (Hint: I’m probably not going to change anyone’s thinking by sharing a post from Fox News or MSNBC…so I’m probably posting it for the wrong reasons. Kingdom love is the opposite of self serving. )
  10. Is what I’m posting keeping a record of other people’s wrongs? Why am I so quick to track the sins of what I deem terrible? (It’s not my job to keep a track record of what I consider other people’s failures. Real love keeps no record of wrongs.)
  11. Am I enjoying fighting with people? Am I getting a rush out of pushing buttons or declaring my rightness or ragging on the opposing political party? (Love doesn’t delight in evil.)
  12. Does what I’m writing reflect God’s truth — or my truth? Am I creating my little kingdom views on the Kingdom of God, or vice versa?

When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put the ways of childhood behind me. For now we see only a reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.

And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.

31 days of living the kingdom at home

Read more in this series.

[If you’d like to subscribe by e-mail, enter your e-mail address in the space in the sidebar!]

About Kayla

I'm a full-time journalist turned work-at-home writer. I'm hitched to a shaggy-haired pastor and we're smitten with two wild + crazy boys: Joseph (3), who joined our family via international adoption, and Asher (1), who came the old-fashioned way. I drink strong coffee, I like pretty things, and I believe there's beauty in the broken. I hope Many Sparrows will encourage you to find worth and live a story worth sharing. When I’m not changing diapers and sweeping Cheerios, I’m tickling the ivory keys of my old school MacBook as a freelance writer and editor. And when I’m not doing that, I’m sneaking into the living room in the wee hours of the night to blog about all of the things. (Primarily faith, family, style, adoption, design, and happy thoughts.)
This entry was posted in Faith, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to government shutdowns, facebook + the kingdom of god

  1. natalie says:

    this is fantastic… and so easy to apply to many types of posts on social media. finding it’s so necessary to be critical of what I’m saying when it’s so easy to instantly post something!

  2. jeffkeady says:

    Thanks for your kind words Kayla – and thanks for pointing to the Scriptures as a basis for us evaluating our conversation with others. I have been guilty of most of these things at one time or another. That is why I don’t comment very often on social media. This is a great post by YOU and I will try to learn to live by these guidelines while online.

  3. Pingback: pull off the bandaid + leave comfortable christianity for jesus: an honest review of jen hatmaker's book "Interrupted" and a giveaway! | Many Sparrows

Leave a Reply

