finding joy in an ordinary day


steppingtowardjoy

Joy + gratitude are so easily over looked. Sure, we feel it in the big moments: When we hold our sweet babies for the first time, when we look into the eyes of our spouse and say ‘I do’, when we walk up to receive that diploma. But is it always there? In the little moments? In the every day rhythms + routines of our daily lives?

I think it is. We just have to see it.

How would our lives look different if we were mindful in each moment, keeping our eyes (and hearts) open for the beauty in the ordinary?

I admit, it’s not easy.

I spent my morning working on staying in step with gratitude — seeing the wonder of the Kingdom at home.

And…wow. I should do that more often.

I started my morning on a long walk with a good friend. There’s a lot that drives me crazy about small town Iowa, but the sleepy fog over the cornfields, the sun slowly rising on a cool September day, a cuddly baby snuggled into the carrier, a listening ear to hear me talk about ALL OF THE THINGS…I didn’t have to work hard to see the joy in that.

I stopped by my favorite coffee shop. My favorite coffee shop that is notoriously slow. But today I enjoyed the wait. I left my iPhone in the car and listened. I soaked in the creaky wood floors and the baristas who know my name and the whirl of the beans grinding. (And can we talk about coffee shop smells?! Bottle that up for me, please.) I overheard college students laughing over an inside joke. I listened to old friends sharing new stories. I looked into my baby’s silver-dollar eyes and told him that mama loves him.

And you know what? The day isn’t over and every day is a new day to see glimpses of the Kingdom of God.

His mercies are new each morning.

31 days of living the kingdom at home

Read more in this series.

[If you’d like to subscribe by e-mail, enter your e-mail address in the space in the sidebar!]

About Kayla

I'm a full-time journalist turned work-at-home writer. I'm hitched to a shaggy-haired pastor and we're smitten with two wild + crazy boys: Joseph (3), who joined our family via international adoption, and Asher (1), who came the old-fashioned way. I drink strong coffee, I like pretty things, and I believe there's beauty in the broken. I hope Many Sparrows will encourage you to find worth and live a story worth sharing. When I’m not changing diapers and sweeping Cheerios, I’m tickling the ivory keys of my old school MacBook as a freelance writer and editor. And when I’m not doing that, I’m sneaking into the living room in the wee hours of the night to blog about all of the things. (Primarily faith, family, style, adoption, design, and happy thoughts.)
This entry was posted in Faith, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

