why you should take a break

design

The past year and half has been a kind of intense transition time for us, for me. After four years of marriage, we moved four hours away from our metro area to a small town, where Jonny started his first position in full-time ministry. I was pregnant during the move, and we added a new baby to our family during this small window of time.

We’ve learned lessons and I’ve seen the best and worst of myself. Juggling my freelance work while staying home with a very active 3-year-old boy and a baby, while figuring out what it means to be a “pastor’s wife” in a place with a very different culture than what I’m used to has not been easy.

Yesterday, I woke up just knowing that I had to cut my hair. The ends were crunchy and split-endy and it just needed to happen immediately. I’d already been feeling grouchy about things (read: Jonny’s impending travel week for seminary), but when no salon in the area was even open past noon, my mood hit another level. I was frustrated and angry about a lot of things and, to be honest, I had waited too long to take a break. I had let ugly things fester + grow inside of me, and I didn’t realize the impending doom until it was too late.

I whined and pouted about every life circumstance to Jonny, and each complaint grew larger than the last. I’m so thankful for a patient husband who saw through the drama to see a woman + a wife + a mom who, despite her (many) shortcomings, just needed a break.

So, he stayed home with Joseph + Asher, and I drove the 45 minutes (yeah, you read that right) to get to a salon to cut my hair. (BANGS!!!)

photo (20)

I ordered a panini at Panera and got wild with a half-caf coffee. I stopped by Target and added some fall boots to the boxes of diapers in the cart. I had been holding my breath for way too long and finally exhaled.

And I came home a lot lighter than when I left. Did it solve all of my problems? No, but it gave me some perspective.

I guess the old adage that you can’t take care of others if you don’t take care of yourself is kind of true. We need breaks. Jesus took breaks. He had definite times of rest. I don’t want to oversimplify things (or overspiritualize them), but I know that rest is not only good, but it’s vital to a healthy life. I think God intended it that way.

So married people, here’s my advice: When you see your husband/or wife on the fritz, nudge them to take a break. I wouldn’t have taken the initiative to take an evening out without Jonny suggesting it. Living the Kingdom at home means loving others as we love ourselves. It means feeding the kids and putting them to bed and doing the laundry so your wife can get her bangs cut and go to Target in peace.

31 days of living the kingdom at home

Read more in this series.

[If you’d like to subscribe by e-mail, enter your e-mail address in the space in the sidebar!]

About Kayla

I'm a full-time journalist turned work-at-home writer. I'm hitched to a shaggy-haired pastor and we're smitten with two wild + crazy boys: Joseph (3), who joined our family via international adoption, and Asher (1), who came the old-fashioned way. I drink strong coffee, I like pretty things, and I believe there's beauty in the broken. I hope Many Sparrows will encourage you to find worth and live a story worth sharing. When I’m not changing diapers and sweeping Cheerios, I’m tickling the ivory keys of my old school MacBook as a freelance writer and editor. And when I’m not doing that, I’m sneaking into the living room in the wee hours of the night to blog about all of the things. (Primarily faith, family, style, adoption, design, and happy thoughts.)
This entry was posted in Faith, Happy Thoughts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to why you should take a break

  1. natalie says:

    yes, yes, yes. Dan is great at this, and I take full advantage of his willingness to let me get out.

  2. Madison says:

    I remember when Joe and I got married I really struggled with this. I wanted to spend time with him all the time, but as someone who loves their alone time and grew up an only child, I found too much togetherness smothering. Joe’s code to me is now, “Do you need to go take a bath and relax?” It’s almost always just the thing I need! A hot bath, a yoga class, some quiet time with a book. He’s good about encouraging me to take some time to recharge. And it almost always works! PS: Your bangs look great!

Leave a Reply

