bring love home

photo (21)

You know what really warms my heart? Ordinary people becoming part of an extraordinary story. I want to tell you about my sweet friend Sara — and how, this Christmas, we can all get our little families involved in something big! (And keep reading, because there’s a Noonday Collection giveaway at the end of this post!)

When we moved to our little corner of Iowa, I prayed for friends. Moving can be tough, especially when you move to a small town. Sara has been such a light to me. Her heart for the oppressed, hunger for justice, and humility in Christ have been an encouragement and an inspiration. So, I’m honored to help share how we can come alongside her family this holiday season!

1417473_10201644021074995_1350154028_o

Her family is starting the adoption process of a sweet little girl currently waiting overseas in an orphanage. Fees can get steep — here’s where we come in!

Home for the holidays

Sara + her family are providing a free advent printable for the little ones in your life. Kids can cut + color these little paper houses, which will be glued/taped together to make banks to collect coins to bring this little lady home! Sara will also be providing advent devotionals for your family, along with updates on the little girl your family will be praying for + collecting change for.

Download the house template here.

For those who aren’t local, simply tally up the change at the end of December and then donate the amount toward their adoption on their fundraising site. I can’t wait to do this with Joseph! If you’re not a parent, maybe there’s a grandchild or niece or nephew or friend who could do this with you.

1468565_10202598421700604_1390713581_n

I love the idea of making memories, and more importantly, teaching our kiddos early what it means to be compassionate and live generously in the name of Jesus. What better time to start than the advent season?

Sara + her husband have five kiddos already — and those sweet kids made that sweet video above. Watch it if you haven’t already!

Giveaway time!

If all of this isn’t sweet enough, Sara is a Noonday Collection ambassador, and when you share about the advent houses, you’ll be entered to win a Noonday scarf!

Screen shot 2013-12-04 at 12.01.37 PM

Noonday Collection was started by an adoptive mama who saw a need for women in developing countries to have sustainable jobs so that desperation from poverty would not be the reason they placed children in orphanages. Noonday employs amazing artisans who make fashionable, fair-trade, handmade jewelry, accessories, and home goods. I highly suggest ordering Noonday Christmas gifts! If you’re confused about the Rafflecopter giveaway below, you can ‘comment’ your entries here or on Sara’s blog.

a Rafflecopter giveaway
//d12vno17mo87cx.cloudfront.net/embed/rafl/cptr.js

About Kayla

I'm a full-time journalist turned work-at-home writer. I'm hitched to a shaggy-haired pastor and we're smitten with two wild + crazy boys: Joseph (3), who joined our family via international adoption, and Asher (1), who came the old-fashioned way. I drink strong coffee, I like pretty things, and I believe there's beauty in the broken. I hope Many Sparrows will encourage you to find worth and live a story worth sharing. When I’m not changing diapers and sweeping Cheerios, I’m tickling the ivory keys of my old school MacBook as a freelance writer and editor. And when I’m not doing that, I’m sneaking into the living room in the wee hours of the night to blog about all of the things. (Primarily faith, family, style, adoption, design, and happy thoughts.)
This entry was posted in Adoption, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to bring love home

  1. natalie says:

    this is our first year doing daily Advent readings. I made a little calendar with scripture that coordinates with John Piper’s Advent readings! also, I would love to get a friend for my Angelica infinity scarf 🙂

  2. Erin says:

    I have a set of ornaments that correspond to an advent devotional that we are *trying* to do each night — crazy evenings with a 4 year old and 4 month old! thanks for the giveaway chance and sharing about this family — will read more on their blog/website!

  3. Carolsue says:

    All we have is one of the Advent calendars, but my kids love it and look forward to it!

  4. Pingback: blogger clothing swap: first impressions | Many Sparrows

  5. lizbethjoy says:

    We just got the Naptime Diaries Advent Calendar for this year and I love having it! I almost didn’t buy it because we don’t have kids yet and then my husband told me that we can still celebrate it! haha. I love the readings and scriptures that go with each day!

Leave a Reply

