choosing joy in the new year

choose joy in 2014 new year's I used to equate joy with happiness. I believed joy was a feeling I could master — a tangible something that I could just reach out and grasp if everything would just go my way. I thought that being joyful was laughing with arms stretched wide, running free and singing about the hills being alive.

But what if I was wrong?

What if joy is an old, oversized sweater, quietly waiting to be torn off the hanger? What if joy is something to wear when the days get cold and comfort seems so far away?

Maybe joy has nothing to do with happiness and everything to do with hope.

Maybe joy is a choice we can can clothe ourselves in. Not despite our circumstances but because of them.

Maybe joy is not blind optimism, but an exhale into freedom.

This year, could I tear open my closet doors and choose joy? I think I’ll try.
http://www.avantlink.com/affiliate_app_confirm.php?mode=js&authResponse=a9b0fd78b5c13c9f42d58999c0979760fd0fc861

About Kayla

I'm a full-time journalist turned work-at-home writer. I'm hitched to a shaggy-haired pastor and we're smitten with two wild + crazy boys: Joseph (3), who joined our family via international adoption, and Asher (1), who came the old-fashioned way. I drink strong coffee, I like pretty things, and I believe there's beauty in the broken. I hope Many Sparrows will encourage you to find worth and live a story worth sharing. When I’m not changing diapers and sweeping Cheerios, I’m tickling the ivory keys of my old school MacBook as a freelance writer and editor. And when I’m not doing that, I’m sneaking into the living room in the wee hours of the night to blog about all of the things. (Primarily faith, family, style, adoption, design, and happy thoughts.)
This entry was posted in Faith, Happy Thoughts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to choosing joy in the new year

  1. Pingback: Waiting for God to answer, Waiting on God, Waiting for God to act | Many Sparrows

Leave a Reply

