facebook official

I have a degree in magazine journalism with minors in sociology and English. Storytelling is my jam. I’ve been a newspaper journalist and magazine staff writer, and I’m now a happy mama of two boys. When I’m not changing diapers and sweeping Cheerios, I’m tickling the ivory keys of my old school MacBook as a freelance writer and editor. And when I’m not doing that, I’m sneaking into the living room in the wee hours of the night to blog about all of the things. (Primarily faith, family, style, adoption, design, and happy thoughts.)

Look at me blissfully blogging! (Ignore that I’m usually writing in my PJs on the couch.)

 

I was in college when we got engaged. (I know, right? Apparently Jonny was really eager to put a ring on it.) Being the overachiever that I am, instead of going out for a dinner celebration that night, I attended my late-night Drake Magazine editing session. (It was a weeknight! We went out that weekend.)

Red pens in hand, we were obliterating some freshman’s terrible story when my editor let out a huge gasp.

“WHAT. IS. ON. YOUR. HAND?”

Oh, yeah. That. Since I was just a freshman (that aforementioned terrible story was not mine), I felt awkward telling the older editors that I was now betrothed. I barely knew these future magazine editors of America and was trying to fit in/do what all the cool magazine majors were doing. (AKA awkwardly trying not to draw attention to myself.)

I blushed and showed off my blingin’ left hand. Then my editor paused again for another dramatic question.

“BUT, I HAVE NOT SEEN THIS ON FACEBOOK. ARE YOU FACEBOOK OFFICIAL? YOU HAVE TO BE FACEBOOK OFFICIAL!”

It was 2006, iPhones weren’t really a thing yet, and Facebook was primarily still for college students. And yeah, in the midst of freaking the freak out because I JUST GOT ENGAGED and calling ALL OF THE PEOPLE to share my child-bride news, I had not gotten myself to a computer to update my profile.

And then the meeting stopped right there in the Meredith Hall computer lab and the gaggle of magazine majors gathered around an iMac, waiting for it to boot up and Safari (yikes) to load so I could log into Facebook and make the engagement FACEBOOK OFFICIAL, YOU GUYS.

All of that to say, I’ve been blogging on this little space for a few years now, and tonight, I made Many Sparrows Facebook official.

Now I won’t have to flood my personal page with all of my little musings — I have a whole brand new page for that!

I would love it if you would hop over and like it. Consider this me on bended knee. I’m just a girl sitting in front of a computer, asking random strangers to love her.

Does that mean we’re married now?

About Kayla

I'm a full-time journalist turned work-at-home writer. I'm hitched to a shaggy-haired pastor and we're smitten with two wild + crazy boys: Joseph (3), who joined our family via international adoption, and Asher (1), who came the old-fashioned way. I drink strong coffee, I like pretty things, and I believe there's beauty in the broken. I hope Many Sparrows will encourage you to find worth and live a story worth sharing. When I’m not changing diapers and sweeping Cheerios, I’m tickling the ivory keys of my old school MacBook as a freelance writer and editor. And when I’m not doing that, I’m sneaking into the living room in the wee hours of the night to blog about all of the things. (Primarily faith, family, style, adoption, design, and happy thoughts.)
This entry was posted in Happy Thoughts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

