when there are no words

"Mourn with those who morn" how to be a friend when there are no words to say // Many Sparrows Blog // 31 Days of Living Free: Rooted Love for Women Who Dream

I like to consider myself a bit of a wordsmith. (If not beautifully curated and strung together, at least my words are…plentiful.)

I have words to fill every gap. Every silence.

I have words for every emotion, every situation, every problem, every solution.

Until I don’t.

Sometimes, there are no words.

Where does it leave an over-explainer when something inexplicable happens? Where do I stand when I can’t explain away the hurt?

Sometimes words don’t beat the same rhythm as our hearts.

Some of our best friends are going through some terrible stuff right now. Stuff where words are not enough. So we go and we sit.

Be devoted to one another in love

We’re not made to do it alone. When we’re going through the thick of it, maybe the bravest thing we can do is to let someone in. And the bravest thing we can do when the people we love hurt is to go and enter into that.

Sometimes friendship is laughing and talking and sharing stories, and sometimes it’s being still and not saying much of anything.

Rejoice with those who rejoice

mourn with those who mourn.

So, that’s where my heart is. Thinking about how our words have so much power and how sometimes the best thing to do is to not use any words at all.

Love must be sincere

31 Days of Living Free: Rooted Love for Women Who Dream | Many Sparrows Blog

This part of 31 daily posts of living free. Living freely is something we do momentarily, but to fully live free? That’s a transformation — a total change not only in what we’re like, but in who we are. You can find all the 31 Days of Living Free posts here

About Kayla

I'm a full-time journalist turned work-at-home writer. I'm hitched to a shaggy-haired pastor and we're smitten with two wild + crazy boys: Joseph (3), who joined our family via international adoption, and Asher (1), who came the old-fashioned way. I drink strong coffee, I like pretty things, and I believe there's beauty in the broken. I hope Many Sparrows will encourage you to find worth and live a story worth sharing. When I’m not changing diapers and sweeping Cheerios, I’m tickling the ivory keys of my old school MacBook as a freelance writer and editor. And when I’m not doing that, I’m sneaking into the living room in the wee hours of the night to blog about all of the things. (Primarily faith, family, style, adoption, design, and happy thoughts.)
This entry was posted in Faith, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to when there are no words

  1. Amber says:

    For all those who are hurting right now, that explains it perfectly.

  2. Rachel G says:

    I recognize the kinds of situations you’re talking about. I feel so helpless when there’s truly nothing I can say, but in those times it’s more important to be there than to say anything.

  3. Pingback: It is for Freedom that I am Set Free // All Sons & Daughters

  4. Brittany at EquippingGodlyWomen.com says:

    Sometimes no words are the best words of all. 🙂

  5. Pingback: Romans 8 38 Devotion: Neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord

  6. Pingback: 31 days of living free: hello, goodbye. - Many Sparrows

Leave a Reply

